Great turn out for basis.point Corporate Challenge

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text][dt_fancy_image type=”” style=”1″ lightbox=”1″ align=”left” padding=”0″ margin_top=”0″ margin_bottom=”0″ margin_right=”10″ margin_left=”0″ width=”400″ animation=”none” media=”” image_alt=”” hd_image=”” image=””][/dt_fancy_image]The Second Annual basis.point Corporate Challenge was held in Milltown Golf Club on Thursday 25 September 2014.

A great day was held with over 145 golfers taking part and 160 people attending the evening reception and dinner.

Aidan Tiernan spoke prior to dinner about the basis.point disbursements committee, and how it had planned the way it would approach the review and selection process of worthy charities. The disbursements committee researched the sector and consulted experts in the area.

[dt_fancy_image type=”” style=”1″ lightbox=”1″ align=”right” padding=”0″ margin_top=”0″ margin_bottom=”0″ margin_right=”0″ margin_left=”10″ width=”370″ animation=”none” media=”” image_alt=”” hd_image=”” image=””][/dt_fancy_image]Following this work it has developed selection criteria, and based on this criteria is now considering projects for the first funding round. He also reminded the attendees on the focus of basis.point, which is to help make a sustainable and tangible difference to the lives of those living in poverty, particularly young people, by supporting charities which focus on education.

Eilis Murray of Philanthropy Ireland then spoke and welcomed the establishment and work of basis.point. Eilis mentioned that in coming together to establish a charity such as basis.point, the Funds Industry is acting as an exemplar to other industries.

After dinner the prizes were presented with the Cathal Lavelle Trophy being awarded to the Dechert team of Declan O’Sullivan, Tom Murray, Ronan O’Donoghue and Michael Boyce with a great score of 93 points. GAFM1 came second with 89 points (on the back nine), GAFM2 came third with 89 points (on the back nine), Invesco were fourth with 89 points and Northern Trust were fifth with 88 points.

Alan Burke of Citco won the longest drive for the men, Karen Conboy of KPMG won the longest drive for the women and Paul McGrath of PwC was nearest the pin.[/vc_column_text][dt_gap height=”10″][vc_toggle title=”Click for Competition Results” open=”false”]

  Name Team H/Cap Score
Declan O’Sullivan Dechert 1 24 93 Pts
Tom Murray   20  
Ronan O’Donoghue   20  
Michael Boyce   12  
Second & Best Fund Promoter        
Michael Logan GAFM 2 24 89 Pts (Back 9)
Mark Daly   13  
Trevor Dolan   19  
Gavin Cullen   19  
David Cullen GAFM 1 16 89 Pts (Back 9)
David Stafford   15  
Darragh Kelly   20  
Rob Henson   22  
David O’Reilly Invesco 8 89 Pts
Aonghus Stuart   16  
Brian Collins   23  
Oliver Carroll   24  
Ken Lambe Northern Trust 11 88 Pts (Back 9)
Donal Nolan   14  
Brian Hegarty   15  
Darren Smyth   15  
Long D (M) Alan Burke Citco    
Long D (L) Karen Conboy KPMG    
N the Pin Paul McGrath PwC    

[/vc_toggle][dt_gap height=”20″][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=”1/1″][vc_column_text]


Share this post

Related Articles

Sign up to our newsletter

You can support our work to empower young people through education by hosting a company event, organising a personal event, or getting involved with any of our events or initiatives.